Portugal - Visa Free Countries

About Portugal - Passport Visa Free Countries

Portugal, often known as the Portuguese Republic or Repblica Portuguesa, is a republic in southwest Europe that borders the Atlantic Ocean and the Iberian Peninsula. Portugal, formerly the most powerful nation in continental Europe, has geographical and cultural ties to both northern European and Mediterranean nations. The Algarve region in the country’s south is warm and fruitful, in contrast to the country’s sparsely populated, picturesque, and wild northern coast and mountainous interior. The highest peak in Portuguese mainland is located in the rough Estrela Mountains (Serra da Estrela, or “Star Mountain Range”), which are situated between the Tagus and Mondego rivers.

Portugal Passport Visa Free Countries - Explained

A Portugal passport can be used to travel to 189 countries without a visa, giving it a score of 5. Please take note that the number of nations that Portugal passport holders can access without a visa, with a visa on arrival, or via the eTA is reflected in the list of countries that do not require a visa.

Travel to Portugal Passport Visa Free Countries in 2023

You can find all the details regarding Portugal Passport Visa-Free Travel 2023, including a list of nations that Portugal passport holders don’t need a visa to enter. You can view the countries accessible with a visa-on-arrival or an eTA, as well as the nations from which you’ll need to obtain an online visa or a physical visa—that is, a visa from an embassy or consulate—in order to enter, in addition to the countries that don’t require a visa for Portugal passport holders.

Albania Chile Guinea-Bissau
Andorra Colombia Guyana
Angola Comoros Haiti
Antigua and Barbuda Costa Rica Honduras
Argentina Croatia Hungary
Armenia Cuba Iceland
Australia Cyprus India
Austria Czech Republic Indonesia
Azerbaijan Denmark Iran
Bahamas Djibouti Ireland
Bahrain Dominica Israel
Bangladesh Dominican Republic Italy
Barbados Ecuador Jamaica
Belarus Egypt Japan
Belgium El Salvador Jordan
Belize Estonia Kazakhstan
Benin Ethiopia Kenya
Bolivia Fiji Kiribati
Bosnia and Herzegovina Finland Kuwait
Botswana France Kyrgyzstan
Brazil Gabon Laos
Brunei Georgia Latvia
Bulgaria Germany Lebanon
Burkina Faso Greece Lesotho
Cambodia Grenada Liechtenstein
Canada Lithuania
Cape Verde Guatemala Luxembourg
Micronesia São Tomé and Príncipe Macedonia
Moldova Senegal Madagascar
Monaco Serbia Malawi
Montenegro Seychelles Malaysia
Morocco Singapore Maldives
Mozambique Slovakia Malta
Myanmar Slovenia Marshall Islands
Namibia Solomon Islands Mauritania
Nepal Somalia Mauritius
Netherlands South Africa Mexico
New Zealand South Korea United Kingdom
Nicaragua Spain United States
Norway Sri Lanka Uruguay
Oman Suriname Uzbekistan
Palau Swaziland Vanuatu
Panama Sweden Vatican City
  Switzerland Venezuela
Papua New Guinea Tajikistan Zambia
Paraguay Tanzania Zimbabwe
Peru Thailand  
Philippines Timor-Leste  
Poland Togo  
Qatar Tonga  
Romania Trinidad and Tobago  
Rwanda Tunisia  
Saint Kitts and Nevis Turkey  
Saint Lucia Tuvalu  
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Uganda  
Samoa Ukraine  
San Marino United Arab Emirates  

Frequently Asked Questions

 Portuguese citizens could travel to 190 countries and territories without a visa or with a visa on arrival. This ranking placed Portugal in the top 6 of the Henley Passport Index, which is based on the number of destinations their holders can access without a prior visa.

It's important to note that visa requirements can change frequently, so it's always best to double-check the specific requirements for your destination before you travel.

The visa-free entry to Portugal depends on the nationality and purpose of travel of the visitor. As of my knowledge cutoff date of September 2021, the following groups of travelers could enter Portugal without a visa for a stay of up to 90 days within a 180-day period:

  1.  Citizens of the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA) countries, including Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.
  2.  Citizens of some non-EU countries, including the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, and several South American and Central American countries, such as Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Mexico, and Panama.
  3.  Citizens of some Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries, including Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates.
  4.  Nationals of some African countries, including South Africa, Mauritius, and Seychelles.

Portugal did not offer visas on arrival to most foreign visitors. However, there are some exceptions to this rule, such as:

  1. Citizens of some non-EU countries, such as Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, and the United States, may be able to obtain a Schengen visa on arrival if they can provide proof of an urgent need to travel to Portugal and have not had the opportunity to apply for a visa beforehand.
  2. Some nationals of African and Asian countries, such as Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Timor-Leste, and Sao Tome and Principe, are exempt from the Schengen visa requirement for short-term stays in Portugal and can enter without a visa.

However, it's important to note that visa requirements can change frequently, so it's always best to double-check the specific requirements for your nationality and purpose of travel before you plan your trip to Portugal.

Request a Callback

We would like to ensure you that all data provided through the form will remain strictly confidential.

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply. By submitting this form, you agree to Migrate World Privacy Policy