Canada Passport Visa Free Countries

Canadian passport holders enjoy visa-free or visa-on-arrival travel to many countries around the world. As of 2021, Canadian passport holders can travel visa-free to 184 countries and territories, making the Canadian passport one of the most powerful passports in the world.

The United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Ireland, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Greece, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, South Korea, and many more are among the nations that holders of Canadian passports can visit without a visa.

It’s important to note that visa policies can change without notice, so it’s always a good idea to check with the embassy or consulate of the country you plan to visit before making travel arrangements.

List of Canada Passport Visa Free Countries in 2023

As of my knowledge cutoff date of 2023, Canadian passport holders could travel to the following countries without a visa or with a visa on arrival:

Albania Denmark Uzbekistan
American Samoa  Dominica Vanuatu
Andorra Dominican Republic US Virgin Islands
Anguilla Ecuador United Kingdom
Antigua and Barbuda Egypt  Monaco
Argentina El Salvador Mongolia
Armenia  Estonia Montenegro
Aruba eSwatini Montserrat
Australia  Ethiopia  Morocco
Austria Falkland Islands Mozambique 
Bahamas Faroe Islands Namibia
Bahrain  Fiji Nepal 
Bangladesh  Finland Netherlands
Barbados France New Caledonia
Belarus French Guiana New Zealand 
Belgium French Polynesia Nicaragua
Belize French West Indies Niue
Bermuda Gabon  North Macedonia
Bolivia Georgia Northern Mariana Islands
Bonaire; St. Eustatius and Saba Germany Norway
Bosnia and Herzegovina Gibraltar Oman
Botswana Greece Pakistan 
Brazil Greenland Palau Islands 
British Virgin Islands Grenada Palestinian Territory
Brunei Guam Panama
Bulgaria Guatemala Papua New Guinea 
Burkina Faso  Guinea-Bissau  Paraguay 
Burundi  Guyana Peru
Cambodia  Haiti Philippines
Cape Verde Islands  Honduras Poland
Cayman Islands Hong Kong (SAR China) Portugal
Chile Hungary Puerto Rico
Colombia Iceland Qatar
Comoro Islands  Indonesia Reunion
Cook Islands Iraq Romania
Costa Rica Ireland Rwanda 
Croatia Israel Samoa 
Curacao Italy San Marino
Cyprus Jamaica Sao Tome and Principe
Czech Republic Jordan  Saudi Arabia 
Malawi  Kazakhstan Senegal
Malaysia Kiribati Serbia
Maldives  Kosovo Seychelles 
Malta Kuwait  Sierra Leone 
Marshall Islands  Kyrgyzstan Singapore
Mauritania  Laos  Slovakia
Mauritius Latvia Slovenia
Mayotte Lebanon  Solomon Islands 
Mexico Lesotho Somalia 
Micronesia Liechtenstein South Africa
Moldova Lithuania South Korea
St. Kitts and Nevis Luxembourg Spain
St. Lucia Macao (SAR China) Sri Lanka 
St. Maarten Madagascar  St. Helena 
St. Vincent and the Grenadines Sweden Thailand
Trinidad and Tobago Switzerland The Gambia
Tunisia Taiwan (Chinese Taipei) Timor-Leste 
Turks and Caicos Islands Tajikistan  Togo 
Tuvalu  Tanzania  Tonga 
Uganda  Ukraine United Arab Emirates 
Vatican City Uruguay United States
Zimbabwe  Zambia   

Frequently Asked Questions

Canadian passport holders can travel visa-free or obtain a visa on arrival to 184 countries and territories.

High net worth individuals: Investor programs typically require a significant investment, often in the hundreds of thousands or even millions of dollars. As a result, these programs are most appealing to high net worth individuals who have the financial means to make such an investment.

Business owners: Many investor programs require applicants to have experience running a successful business or investing in financial assets. As such, business owners may be particularly well-suited to these programs.

Individuals seeking residency or citizenship: Investor programs can offer a relatively quick and straightforward path to residency or citizenship in a foreign country. As such, individuals who are looking to establish a second home or secure a backup plan may be interested in applying.

Investing in Canada does not automatically guarantee Permanent Residency (PR) status. There are different immigration programs in Canada that you can apply for to become a permanent resident, and each program has its own requirements and criteria.

One of the programs that allows for investment as a pathway to PR is the Quebec Immigrant Investor Program (QIIP), which requires a minimum investment of CAD 1.2 million. However, this program is currently closed and expected to reopen in 2023.

Other programs that provide a pathway to PR, such as the Federal Skilled Worker Program, the Canadian Experience Class, and the Provincial Nominee Program, do not require any investment, but rather focus on factors such as education, work experience, language ability, and other selection criteria.

No, Canada does not provide visa on arrival to foreign nationals. All visitors to Canada, except for those from visa-exempt countries, are required to obtain a visa before traveling to Canada.

If you are from a country that requires a visa to enter Canada, you must apply for a visa through the appropriate Canadian embassy or consulate. The process typically involves completing an application, submitting supporting documents, paying the application fee, and attending an interview, if required.

It's important to note that even if you have a valid visa, entry into Canada is not guaranteed, and the final decision rests with the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) officer at the port of entry. The officer will assess your admissibility based on factors such as your health, criminal history, and the purpose and length of your stay in Canada.

Discover Canada

Request a Callback

We would like to ensure you that all data provided through the form will remain strictly confidential.

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply. By submitting this form, you agree to Migrate World Privacy Policy